As promised it’s time for me to share what we did on our holiday last week.

But since 68 % of readers of this blog and 87 % of The Edublogger readers (the other blog I author) don’t live in Australia I thought it’s appropriate to start with some background on where I live so you understand where I went on holidays. If you’re interested — here’s comparison of % visitors by country, for top 20, for both blogs using Google Analytics statistics.

Please note I’ve uploaded the photos directly to this post to make it easier for readers who read my posts from work because Barry reminded me that many school districts block Flickr. I haven’t added the videos however I’m happy to upload the videos directly to my blog that I have on Flickr (shows the fish and the kangeroos) — just let me know.aust-usa-uk-mapsmall.jpg

About Western Australia

It’s a long way from anywhere!

But it’s the largest state in Australia even though some from the Eastern States of Australia consider our State a “backward” civilisation due to Perth’s (our capital city) isolation. I should also add it’s the wealthy State of Australia due to massive mining and resource boom. The image on the right shows a size comparison of Australia with USA and UK (click on image to enlarge).

A widely-held belief is Perth is “the world’s mostperth.gif isolated capital city” because the closest major capital to Perth is Adelaide (2,800 km away) which takes three hours by commercial flight. Unfortunately Honolulu in Hawaii is more isolated (nearest capital city of Majuro in the Marshall Islands is 3,673 km away). I’m thinking Honolulu sounds nice 🙂 .

Western Australia is composed of distinct geographical regions each with their own unique climate, features and tourist attractions. It would take me forever to talk about the wonders of each region so click on areas on this map to learn more — I’m based in Perth.

Our Holiday In Relation To Perth

Our holiday was spent in the South West of our State in the Busselton, Dunsborough and Margaret River region (250 km south of Perth). This is one of the most popular tourist destinations in the State due to it’s fabulous beaches, surf areas, vineyards, tuart forests and fine foods. It feels like every km you travel in this region there is another vineyard or more fine foods to eat topped off with a swim at the beach.

Here are some of the highlights:rain.jpg

Favourite Tourist Attraction

Definitely Underwater Observatory that they’ve built to the seafloor at the end of the Busselton jetty. As you walk down the Underwater Observatory, 8 metres to the ocean floor, you see the different marine life, in their natural environment, that exists at each level.

The Busselton jetty is the longest wooden jetty in the Southern Hemisphere stretching 1.841 kms into the ocean. Construction commenced in 1853 and it was used for commercial shipping from 1865 to 1971.

It’s a lovely walk out to the Underwater Observatory (1.8walk.jpg km) but not so much fun walking back in a thunderstorm in the rain (click on the photo of us walking back to see how far from shore we are).

Classic Moments

Always helps if you’re clear in providing directions.

Here is my hubby’s great instructions for locating him when I arrived after driving for 3 1/2 hours:

We are in Dunsborough at coffee shop (no idea of it’s name) near bakery in main drag.

dunsborough.jpgI’m not sure anyone could interpret those directions?

Especially since there was several bakeries, coffee shops and main drags in Dunsborough and I’d never been there before.

Although I should be grateful– he could have always given me a map link like this so I ended up in the ocean ) .

Meanwhile you have my excellent directions:

Just keep going straight and it will take us to Cape Naturalist Lighthouse.

lighthouse1.jpgWell I got that one totally wrong and we ended up at Yallingup totally missing the Lighthouse

Honestly I thought the map showed the road we were on as a straight road that went to the lighthouse ) .

Favourite Moment

Has to be spotting the huge mobs of kangaroos (mob is the term used for a large group of kangaroos) in farmer’s paddocks next to the road.

roos.jpgUnfortunately I scared the first mob by yelling too loudly when we got out of the car but managed to video the mob I saw the next day. The farmers definitely wouldn’t have liked them in their fields.

While these kangaroos look lovely — you definitely don’t want to hit them with a car especially if you don’t have a roo bar. This is why I was very quiet filming them on the second day as there were probably more than 50 of them right next to a really busy road. Here is my video if you want to watch them.

Funniest Moment

We went away on holidays with several family groups.fish.jpg

Just about everyday the men would go fishing, for 3+ hours, and return home empty handed (I believe that is called conservation?). Sorry they did catch one fish in 7 days 🙂 .

They were hunting the Australian Salmon (Arripis trutta) which any seafood lover will tell you is a poor tasting fish. Commercial catch is mostly canned.

Finally in frustration on the second last day I took my hubby fishing to show him how it’s done. Here’s a photo of the fish I caught — which taste much nicer 🙂 . He also commented how much more fun it was fishing with me.

pda.jpg

Although I think it’s much easier to grab fish out of the tanks at my work 🙂

Craziest Moment

Couldn’t sleep first night managing to wake hubby who then walked through cabin and when switched on lights blew them all out for the entire cabin. So with no lights (i.e. unable to get up to read) and not able to sleep I hide my PDA under my blankets (to keep light from waking my hubby) and played on the Internet.

cabin1.jpg

Frustrating Moment

My hubby was responsible for booking the holiday accommodation. He went under guidance of our friend who organised the holiday and has been to the particular location about 5 times.

All I shall say on the matter is my hubby is never, ever, ever booking accommodation ever again!

Our cabin was falling cabin11.jpgdown and not very nice inside. Our other friends (not the ones who gave hubby guidance) stayed at the same location, just one cabin behind us, in a lovely brick cabin with fantastic furniture and paid $100 more.

FINAL THOUGHTS

Definitely did a lot more than I covered in this post — which is way tooooo long. Here are the photos on Flickr that includes all the videos and lots more sights.

18 responses to “It’s A Wrap & Not Chocolate Bars — The Holiday Post”

  1. Sue – I loved hearing about your vacation! I’m one of your many readers NOT from Australia, so this was an excellent look into what it’s like there. Maybe you should consider moving into the travel blog business 🙂 Thanks again for sharing, I loved all the pictures.

    Like

  2. […] like to share one of the posts that exemplify my global network – Sue Waters from Perth, Australia just wrote today about her vacation and gave a fascinating look at Western Australia and some of the highlights of […]

    Like

  3. […] unknown wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptJust about everyday the men would go fishing, for 3+ hours, and return home empty handed (I believe that is called conservation?). Sorry they did catch one fish in 7 days . fish.jpg They were hunting the Australian Salmon (Arripis … […]

    Like

  4. I greatly enjoyed this Post about Sue’s holidays:
    Australia, so far away from my location on Southern Europe, seemed to me to be near and familiar; all the distance and the natural strangeness (I never saw a Kangourou out of the zoo) suddenly vanishing in face of the evidence that people can friendly share and put together something they love thus becoming neighbours to each other. I’m sorry not to speak properly enough your noble language in order to put it in more adequate words.

    Like

  5. Hi Sue, what a great wrap up! I was down south for a few days too only a few kms away from you.
    I just hope that in your wrap up the non-aussie readers understand that “main drag” means the main road through the town 🙂
    Take care!
    Kate

    Like

  6. Love your post. Too often we concentrate on our educational life from a teaching perspective. However, by sharing where we live and what we do, gives readers and global connections an insight into our makeup, our culture and lifestyle. Sharing our world, our homes and our area is an important element. Looks like you had a wonderful time and I loved reading each of the sub headings and content.

    Like

  7. […] the other blog I author don??t live in Australia I thought it??s appropriate to start with some bhttp://aquaculturepda.edublogs.org/2008/04/24/its-a-wrap-not-chocolate-bars-the-holiday-post/Halt unwarranted raids, says Human Rights Watch Gay WiredBishkek police have carried out a […]

    Like

  8. […] the other blog I author don??t live in Australia I thought it??s appropriate to start with some bhttp://aquaculturepda.edublogs.org/2008/04/24/its-a-wrap-not-chocolate-bars-the-holiday-post/Leader_of_the_Free_World at hotmail.com Honest_to_God at hotmail.com Yeah_Way_Man at hotmail.com […]

    Like

  9. […] the other blog I author don??t live in Australia I thought it??s appropriate to start with some bhttp://aquaculturepda.edublogs.org/2008/04/24/its-a-wrap-not-chocolate-bars-the-holiday-post/City council approves water rate increase Carteret County News-TimesMOREHEAD city ?? The city […]

    Like

  10. @Kate I must admit I’ve enjoyed writing this post and it does have me seriously thinking that it is an excellent way of documenting your holiday journeys. Plus I like the fact that my readers gain from sharing my holiday ventures.

    @inpi I’m glad you enjoyed the stories and photos I shared. Those kangaroo were so cool. We went down a side road and saw even more. One sat by the car right near us; I wanted to get out and pat. But didn’t because they can attack (not often but has happened). Your English is really good. And you should be proud of the fact you make the effort to comment as there are a lot of English speakers who are afraid of commenting.

    @Kate Quinn I realised when I saw your tweet that you had been there and were heading back. If only we had known. You are right I should explain Aussie slang.

    @Anne Thanks as I said above I enjoyed and it’s great to know people like this type of information. I definitely thought hard about the subtitles.

    Like

  11. Great to hear about your holiday, Sue. Going back to our discussions about Twitter, I really enjoyed hearing about what you were up to through your tweets.

    We ( my family) are really keen to visit Western Australia so I was very interested in learning more about that area.

    Like

  12. […] slang translator but had no success. My readers definitely need this! As Kate Quinn pointed out in comments I used this aussie slang “main drag to refer to the main road through the town” in a […]

    Like

  13. […] the other blog I author don??t live in Australia I thought it??s appropriate to start with some bhttp://aquaculturepda.edublogs.org/2008/04/24/its-a-wrap-not-chocolate-bars-the-holiday-post/Transnational unit curbs drug trade UPIPALIKIR, Micronesia, April 30 UPI — U.S. Coast Guard […]

    Like

  14. […] the other blog I author don??t live in Australia I thought it??s appropriate to start with some bhttp://aquaculturepda.edublogs.org/2008/04/24/its-a-wrap-not-chocolate-bars-the-holiday-post/Equestrian groups want more riding trails ABC via Yahoo!7 NewsRecreational horse riders are asking […]

    Like

  15. […] the other blog I author don??t live in Australia I thought it??s appropriate to start with some bhttp://aquaculturepda.edublogs.org/2008/04/24/its-a-wrap-not-chocolate-bars-the-holiday-post/Man charged over 8.4m heroin ring The West AustralianA man accused of trying to smuggle 8.4 million […]

    Like

  16. […] the other blog I author don??t live in Australia I thought it??s appropriate to start with some bhttp://aquaculturepda.edublogs.org/2008/04/24/its-a-wrap-not-chocolate-bars-the-holiday-post/Thunder Storm Watch KAUZ Wichita FallsYour KAUZ Storm Team Command Center has issued a Thunder Storm […]

    Like

  17. Sarah,

    Shame that Western Australia is so far away and expensive to visit. I will keep sharing what it is like and glad you liked the tweets (rants). Let me know if you do decide to visit.

    Like

  18. […] the other blog I author don??t live in Australia I thought it??s appropriate to start with some bhttp://aquaculturepda.edublogs.org/2008/04/24/its-a-wrap-not-chocolate-bars-the-holiday-post/Local business results for used furniture near Honolulu, HIKaimuki Bargain […]

    Like

Leave a comment

Trending

Discover more from Sue Waters

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading